Cart 0
CLIPPING | Wriggle - Turquoise Black Splatter Vinyl

Sub Pop

CLIPPING | Wriggle - Turquoise Black Splatter Vinyl




This 2021 edition of ‘Wriggle’ features new artwork, guests and previously unreleased remixes. Included are the original versions of the title track, ‘Shooter’, ‘Hot Fuck No Love’ (ft. Cakes Da Killa & Maxi Wild), ‘Our Time’ (ft. Nailah Middleton), along with ‘Back Up 2021’ featuring SB The Moor and a new verse from industrial-rap experimentalist Debby Friday.

‘Wriggle (Expanded)’ also features remixes of the title track from Drum & Bass / Breakbeat act Homemade Weapons and Classicworks label cofounder Cardopusher, a rework of ‘Back Up’ by Fade To Mind producer Dave Quam (formerly Massacooramaan) and Chicago footwork producer Jana Rush delivers the vinyl-only ‘Hot Fuck No Love (Naughty Bitch Remix)’.

The original, digital-only ‘Wriggle’ was six tracks that weren’t finished in time to make it onto the group’s 2014 Sub Pop debut, ‘CLPPNG’.

For ‘Shooter’, Clipping recorded themselves firing fifteen different guns, the sounds of which exclusively constituted the beat’s drums, augmented only by a synthesized tone-row. The verses referenced the well-worn technique of ‘hashtag rap’ but, instead of using it to boast about the rapper’s personal wealth and masculine prowess, Clipping put forth imagistic narratives of three violent encounters. True to much of the group’s music, ‘Shooter’ was an attempt to reframe a familiar style and test the limits of its formal capabilities.

‘Hot Fuck No Love’ contains what might be the most explicit verse to date from Clipping’s favourite New Jersey rapper Cakes Da Killa.

The EP’s title track, ‘Wriggle’, was built around a sample of the influential power-electronics song ‘Wriggle Like a Fucking Eel’ by Whitehouse, transforming William Bennett’s torturous imperative into an instructional dance-floor banger. ‘Wriggle’ and ‘Shooter’ have become classic Clipping tracks and staples of their live show.

Rapper and Grammy and Tony Award-winner Daveed Diggs originated two roles in the smash Broadway musical ‘Hamilton’ and is a prolific actor, with roles in ‘Snowpiercer’, ‘Black-ish’, ‘Blindspotting’ and more.  Members Jonathan Snipes and William Hutson are prolific soundtrack and experimental musicians. They worked together on the film ‘Room 237’ and Snipes made the soundtrack for horror film ‘Starry Eyes’.  Their most-recent album, 2020’s ‘Visions of Bodies Being Burned’, brought a significant new audience to the group.

Share this Product