Cart 0
Various | Studio One Rockers - RSD20

Soul Jazz Records

Various | Studio One Rockers - RSD20




Soul Jazz Records are releasing this 20th anniversary edition of their classic ‘Studio One Rockers’ on unique Record Store Day exclusive coloured vinyl.

This new edition is a one-off pressing exclusively for Record Store Day.

Owned and founded by Clement "Coxsone" Dodd, Studio One's output serves as a comprehensive guide to the history of Reggae music.

The music on Studio One Rockers covers all areas of Reggae such as Ska, Rocksteady, Roots and Dancehall, all areas in which Studio One led the field and has become the essential introduction to reggae fans throughout the world.

Included in this compilation are classic Ska tracks (‘Phoenix City’), Rocksteady (‘Feel Like Jumping’), Roots music (‘Truth And Rights’), Dancehall (Freddy McGregor, Michigan and Smiley) and many more.

Featured here are many of the classic tracks from Studio One. From Dawn Penn’s legendary ‘No, No, No’ to classics such as Horace Andy's ‘Skylarking’ and Marcia Griffith's ‘Feel Like Jumping’.

"Compilation of the year. 100% Essential” - Time Out.

"Compilation of the year. A compilation of unbelievable quality. Awesome” – DJ.

"A who's who of Jamaican music” - The Times.

"An essential slice of musical history" – Wire.

"The most credible compilation of reggae you can buy” - The Guardian.

Double LP on green vinyl.

Tracklisting 1. Sound Dimension – Real Rock 2. Marcia Griffiths – Feel Like Jumping 3. Freddy Mcgregor – Bobby Babylon 4. Horace Andy – Skylarking 5. Lennie Hibbert – Village Soul 6. Brentford All-stars – Greedy G 7. Johnny Osbourne – Truth And Rights 8. Ernest Ranglin – Surfin’ 9. Michigan & Smiley – Eye Of Danger 10. Dawn Penn – No, No, No 11. The Skatalites – Phoenix City 12. Prince Jazzbo – Crabwalking 13. Jackie Mittoo – Hot Milk 14. Lone Ranger – Badder Dan Dem 15. Cedric Brooks – Ethiopia

Share this Product

More from this collection