Cart 0
Various | The Ska From Jamaica - RSD20


Various | The Ska From Jamaica - RSD20




Gold vinyl

Originally scheduled for release in 1966 by leading Afro-Jamaican music specialists, R&B Records, ‘The Ska (From Jamaica)’ album remained lost for well over half a century before the ¼” master tape was finally discovered in the Trojan archives earlier this year.

Comprising a dozen top quality tracks that originally saw issue in the UK as 7” singles on the venerated Ska Beat label, the collection features numerous musical talents now widely regarded as Jamaican legends, their number including the Maytals, Ken Boothe, Clancy Eccles, Derrick Harriott, Glen Brown and Roy Shirley.

The album comes presented in a stylishly designed sleeve, and includes an annotated insert, relating the story behind the discovery of the long-lost tape and the music featured therein.

With almost all 12 tracks officially unavailable on vinyl for decades, ‘The Ska (From Jamaica)’ is a must for all fans of the ever-popular ska sound as well as those simply wishing to acquire a unique piece of Jamaican music history.

1.       The Ska - Jackie Estick

2.       Let's Jump - The Maytals

3.       What Have I Done - Winston Samuel

4.       Sammy No Dead - Clancy Eccles

5.       Cling To Me – Horrell Dawkins

6.       Bells Of St. Mary's (Ska) – The Carib-Beats


1.       Monkey Ska - Derrick Harriott

2.       Time Will Tell - Winston Samuels

3.       Paradise - Roy Shirley

4.       Doreen - Ben Levy

5.       Too Late – Glen & Lloyd

6.       Wayward Ska - Lloyd Brevett

Share this Product

More from this collection