Cart 0
De La Soul | 3 Feet High And Rising - Yellow Vinyl


De La Soul | 3 Feet High And Rising - Yellow Vinyl




Limited edition indies-only gatefold opaque yellow double vinyl

Includes comic insert

3 Feet High and Rising is the debut studio album by hip hop trio De La Soul and was released on March 3, 1989. It marked the first of three full- length collaborations with producer Prince Paul, which would become the critical and commercial peak of both parties.

Critically, as well as commercially, the album was a success. It contains the singles, "Me Myself and I", "The Magic Number", "Buddy", and "Eye Know".

The album title came from the Johnny Cash song "Five Feet High and Rising". It is listed on Rolling Stone's 200 Essential Rock Records and The Source's 100 Best Rap Albums. When Village Voice held its annual Jazz & Pop Critics Poll for 1989, 3 Feet High and Rising was ranked #1. It was also listed on the Rolling Stone's The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.

Released amid the 1989 boom in gangsta rap, which gravitated towards hardcore, confrontational, violent lyrics, De La Soul's uniquely positive style made them an oddity beginning with the first single, "Me, Myself and I". Their positivity meant many observers labeled them a 'hippie' group, based on their declaration of the 'D.A.I.S.Y. Age' (Da. Inner. Soul. Yall).

Sampling artists as diverse as Hall & Oates, Steely Dan and The Turtles, 3 Feet High and Rising is often viewed as the stylistic beginning of 1990s alternative hip hop (and especially jazz rap).

An absolutely essential slice of Hip Hop history that’s been unavailable for some time.


1. Intro

2. The Magic Number

3. Change in Speak

4. Cool Breeze on the Rocks (The Melted Version)

5. Can U Keep a Secret

6. Jenifa Taught Me (Derwin's Revenge)

7. Ghetto Thang

8. Transmitting live from Mars

9. Eye Know

10. Take It Off

11. A Little Bit of Soap

12. Tread Water

13. Potholes in My Lawn

14. Say No Go

15. Do As De La Does

16. Plug Tunin' (Last Chance to Comprehend)

17. De La Orgee

18. Buddy (with Jungle Brothers and Q-Tip from A Tribe Called Quest)

19. Description

20. Me Myself and I

21. This is a Recording 4 Living in a Full Time Era (L.I.F.E.)

22. I Can Do Anything (Delacratic)

23. D.A.I.S.Y. Age

Share this Product