Cart 0
PJ Harvey | Let England Shake  - 2022 Reissue


PJ Harvey | Let England Shake - 2022 Reissue




180g black vinyl

Includes download code

Reissue on vinyl of the eighth PJ Harvey studio album Let England Shake. The album was produced by PJ Harvey, Flood and John Parish and originally released in Feburary 2011.

Let England Shake features the singles ‘The Words That Maketh Murder’ and 'The Glorious Land' and was the second album in the catalogue to win the UK’s Mercury Music Prize.

Reissue is faithful to the original recording and package, cutting by Jason Mitchell at Loud Mastering under the guidance of original co-producer John Parish.

Excerpt below taken from LFD's A Favourite Album A Day Facebook project:

PJ Harvey | Let England Shake 2011
Second entry for PJ Harvey with what I call her 'folk' album.
I've always struggled to be moved by the contemporary British folk scene, much for the same reason I don't get modern Country & Western*; it's an homogenised and airbrushed approximation of something that should mean so much more. Not all of it, but too much of it.
'Course that's just the opinion of a manchild who only 24hrs ago proclaimed Blackout In The Red Room to be his favourite ever record...
Let England Shake though is a proper folk record as I understand the term; it's angry about it's history but it's also ebullient in the telling of the tale, a juxtaposition that defined the folk and country & western classics of YORE, Johnny Cash's Boy Named Sue being a good example.
Let England Shake captures the horrors of war without ever feeling preachy or black and white.
*Not to be confused with the Uncut invented genre 'Americana' or 'Cosmic Americana'...

Share this Product